Winds of Change

I know. It’s been a while…

Since my last post, I’ve made two trips to Florida, quit my job, started another one, and finished a few woodworking projects – including this one that made it’s way to the PopWood blog. Obviously, there’s been a lot more but I’m just hitting the high notes. This new job puts me on the road a bit more, which could be good for the blog (because I’ll have more time to post), or bad for the blog (because I’ll have less time to build). I’m not sure yet.  We’ll just have to see.

To get the juices flowing, and in keeping with the season, here are pictures of the pumpkins I started last fall but never got around to painting. They’ve been adorning the front yard for about an month and look much better than they would not decomposing in a landfill. I’ve been trying to up my game in the milk paint/finishing department. I scoured Pinterest and found this helpful article.  I know some thumb their noses at projects like this because they are not “fine” woodworking. Whatevs. I like color, I like painting, and I actually like the shabby chic look. Plus my daughters wanted decorations in the front yard so this was way better than buying something.

The pumpkins sat in the basement for about a week as I tried to rig up some complicated contraption (like a folding triangular stand using butt hinges and stakes) to stand them up and make sure they didn’t topple over. Then I recalled Occam’s Razor:

The small pumpkins are simply leaning against their larger brethren. We had heavy winds a few days ago and the small ones fell over. To combat this issue I simply picked them up and lean them up again; problem solved.

About Shawn Nichols

Heady. Phishy. Woodworker
This entry was posted in General Philosophy, Kids Furniture and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Winds of Change

  1. tombuhl says:

    Happy Halloween to you and your family, When I think of flat yard art I think of plywood. Never captures my spirit or energy. Gluing scraps of hardwood might just move the needle for me. Too late for Halloween 2017, but perhaps something for upcoming holidays. Good to read your post and potential inspiration, Shawn.

    Like

    • Hey Tom,

      I’ll report back on how this red oak holds up with milk paint and a GF 405 top coat. If it falls apart than so be it; I’ll make new ones. Aren’t we all just trying to have a little fun around here? I’m glad I’ve sent a little inspiration your way. I’ll be on the look out for some yard art.

      -Shawn

      Like

Let me know what you think...

