Wildflower Seed on the Sand and Stone

This summer has been filled with mental breaks as I gear up for my next big project: The Dining Room table. I spent some time with the girls and knocked out some stuff for the house and garden. This project started with a trip to Kencraft in Toledo, OH for a Make Something event; it ended with a sassafras plant stand and many lessons along the way.

IMG_1218

Sassafras shorts

During this build, I was lucky enough to have my 13 year old niece visiting from Florida. She stayed with us for six weeks and I experienced what it’s like to have an intelligent, funny, eager-to-learn teenager in the house. She required little more than a nod toward the basement, and the occasional long sleeve shirt (it’s much colder here after all), to get her interested in woodworking. She’s had a tougher go at it than most, but I trust she found a much needed respite both living with us and learning to build things. She was eager to complete various tasks and wasn’t afraid to ask questions when she needed.

Unlike most of my builds, this was straight from a Wood magazine plan . My subscription lapsed many, many years ago but this was a fun thing to crank out without too much struggle or design skills (hing: I’m saving those for the dining room table). I wanted something we could accomplish given her short time here. Here are some of the highlights.

One of my favorite aspects was getting a tiny glimpse into my future; or least I hope so. I had a work trip in the middle of this build. I left instructions for my niece to sand and paint the parts with my girls while I was gone. I was hoping to return from my trip ready to put things together, in the nice blue tone she’d chosen, but they were only half done. Oh well, it’s better than having to do all the work myself. This must be what it’s like to have teenage apprentices in the shop.

My niece wasn’t able to see the final construction but she has followed on Instagram. On my own, I drilled more holes, installed more screws, plugged more holes, and added a few coats of touch up after it was all together.

I top coated the milk paint with a new-to-me product: General Finishes 450. It works wonderfully and goes on easy. I installed the stand in the garden with some pots my wife made years ago. I’ve always loved the way they look but we missed the northern window for planting herbs. Next year. The finish has been holding up nice over the past few weeks in the sun and rain.

As I reflect on this project many things come to mind. The universe launched the Workshop of Our Own campaign while this build took place. Megan Fitzpatrick wrote these words of wisdom describing her thoughts regarding “separate nouns.” And outside our woodworking world, the political and social struggles continued to rage. These issues ring true to me. Few things hit home more than acknowledgement of my own privileges afforded me by the color of my skin and the bits swaying below my navel instead of above. Alas, I can only change the things around me. So to that end, I’m leaving for Florida soon to help my brother work on his new house and while I’m there, I’ll plant the seeds of a workshop for my niece.

About Shawn Nichols

Heady. Phishy. Woodworker
This entry was posted in General Philosophy, Kids Furniture, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wildflower Seed on the Sand and Stone

  1. tombuhl says:

    This is a wonderful post, Shawn. Thanks for sharing. Happy summer to you and yours.

    Like

Let me know what you think...

