Those Who Can, Teach

My local club asked me to teach a class a few weeks ago. I was both excited and honored. We settled on a basic cutting board class as it was geared toward those who’ve never attempted a woodworking project or touched a power tool. I was pleased to see the ages ranged from 10 – over 60. The 10 year old girl was truly the highlight of the day. I’d found out about her during some dialogue on the club’s Facebook page with her mom. She attended with her dad and made a stellar cutting board. Her presence flies right in the face of those who think the craft is dead and that girls can’t do whatever.

As I’ve mentioned many times, I’m uber passionate about getting young people, especially girls, into Making and doing things with their hands. This experience lit a bit of a fire to get into teaching more frequently. I need another activity like I need a hole in my head but there are certain things you can’t deny. Sometimes life  calls upon to do something and it’s best to just listen to the voice and see where it takes you. I’ll keep you posted if anything else materializes.

Here are some pics of the class and final results from the students.

*****************Update*****************

As luck would have it, I just received the following message from the little girl’s dad this morning. To say it made my day is an understatement:

“I just wanted to thank you once again for the setting up the cutting board class last month.  My daughter really enjoyed it, and just this morning was talking about how much fun it was and how she hopes she can go back.  I just wanted you to know that you made a positive influence on a little girl’s life.”

Jackpot.

 

About Shawn Nichols

Heady. Phishy. Woodworker
This entry was posted in General Philosophy, NCCW, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know what you think...

