On the Road: Boston

IMG_4554Work took me to Boston recently. This is quickly becoming one of my favorite cities. I never thought I’d say that as I’m a die hard Boston sports hater; but let’s not dwell on that. I landed on a early morning flight but the meeting I was supposed to attend was postponed. This gave me an entire day in Boston to explore while also cleaning out my inbox and facilitating some customer calls. #sweetgig

It’s September, the beginning of fall in New England, so the temperatures were moderate and brisk brutally hot. I logged in 9.6 miles of walking while checking out the Freedom Trail and many other places.

My first stop was North Bennet Street School (NBSS) since it was a pretty easy walk from my hotel. It turned out to be the first day of classes for new students. There were many bright eyed 18-year-olds away from home for the first time. I heard them greeted by either current or former students as I perused the lobby area. It was encouraging to know they were in good hands along with the future of the craft. The lobby had showcases with used tools for sale. There are also student pieces for sale and various cool books. I soaked it up and had some nice conversations. Unfortunately, I could not venture away from the lobby but it was still great to see this place.

Next up was a few stops on the Freedom Trail including a serendipitous conversation with the gentlemen working at The Printing Office of Edes & Gill near the Old North Church. He was demonstrating printing techniques employed by Paul Revere. It was fascinating and unexpected. He sent me on my way to the U.S.S. Constitution where a huge Restoration is in progress. They are outfitting the ship with all sorts of reclaimed live oak: way cool.

If you read this and have other ideas of things to check out on my next trip, please leave a comment below. I’m sure I’ll be back at some point.

About Shawn Nichols

Heady. Phishy. Woodworker
This entry was posted in Travels and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to On the Road: Boston

  1. ctregan says:

    The Aquarium is fun.

    Like

  2. I love to hear what people say about Boston when they visit with fresh eyes. Every kid in the area gets dragged to the Freedom Trail, Paul Revere’s house and the Old North Church and I can’t wait to drag mine. I hope you stopped at someplace in the North End for a bite while visiting the NBSS.

    Let go of the hatred and allow yourself to be embraced by Boston sports. It satisfies the soul to watch your teams win year after year. I’ll explain more the next time you’re in town.

    Like

Let me know what you think...

