On the Road: Austin

One of the things I love to do when I travel for work is find a good woodworking spot to kill some free time. On a trip to Austin in July, I reached out to Shawn Graham of Worth Effort Woodworking. Shannon Rogers and Chris Schwarz have taught there in the past, which is where I first heard about it.

wortheffort

Not just another Shawn

Shawn was more than gracious and even dedicated a youtube episode to one of the lessons he gave me. We also discussed how some of the principles he’s utilizing can help us back here in Cleveland at the NCCW. In his latest newsletter, he mentioned he’ll be focusing on production work next as the school isn’t paying the bills for now. Here are some shots of the shop, which I’ll be using for inspiration both at home and with the club.

I can’t encourage you enough to get out and see other woodworker’s spaces. You always leave with something new either for your shop, your designs, or your house (as seen below). This reminds me, I’ll be in St. Louis next week: WHAT SHOULD I CHECK OUT?

Some of the things I took home for my girls and myself.

Some of the things I took home for my girls and myself.

Shawn, if you read this, I wish you the best of luck and hope to see you the next time I’m in Austin.

About Shawn Nichols

Heady. Phishy. Woodworker
This entry was posted in Travels and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to On the Road: Austin

  1. Cameron says:

    Man, to think I lived in Austin for 6 years and never knew about this place…and now I’m half way across the country.

    Like

    • Hey Cameron,

      There’s likely something similar in whatever neck of the woods you’re in now. The key is to find it and fast. These things die do to lack of attendance and support. Thanks for stopping by.

      -Shawn

      Like

Let me know what you think...

