The Reno Begins

This week marked the end of the old and beginning of the crazy.

For the next eight weeks or so we’ll be living in a make-shift kitchen without access to the majority of our first floor. Luckily, I will have access to the shop but I will also have a honey-do list a mile long as I’m responsible for the mud room lockers, mud room counter top, new siding feature in the three-season room, and the dining room table.

Having everything moved out of the place makes me want to tackle other things like painting the fireplace along with the adjacent built-in bookcase. Plus if I do the bookcase it needs new doors – I’d make those as well. And I want to rip out the paneling…and I want to redo the mantel and the over head beams…and I want…you get the idea.

Part of me wishes I had the artistic talent and patience to make my renovation look like Frank Howarth’s but I don’t. If you haven’t checked this out, please do so. It’s a great way to spend four minutes.

So, here is what everything looked like last weekend.

Here are the plans from our designer.

Wish us luck and hopefully it comes out looking pretty close to the design.

About Shawn Nichols

Heady. Phishy. Woodworker
This entry was posted in Home Improvement, Living Room, Mudroom, The Big Reno, Three Season Room and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Reno Begins

  1. Best of luck with the renovation!

    Like

  2. Jim Zakany says:

    I’m in the process of doing something similar but taking my time, one room at a time.

    So far:
    – kitchen
    – family room
    – piano room
    – office
    – bedrooms
    – bathrooms

    Currently working on the basement.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Working With Reclaimed Barn Board | While The Glue Dries

Let me know what you think...

