Drawer Three…Getting There

Drawer three is where I started to tweak my approach. I left a sizable amount of material between my pin markings and my actual saw cut. This goes against everything I’ve read from Cosman and Schwarz but my initial results weren’t what I wanted so I had to pivot.

“Disobey me,” a wise man once said.

IMG_3745

Note the amount of space left to pare the wood

Of course, the downside to this method is it took a LOOOONNGG time to pare away since I left so much room. Plus this happened:

The half pin started to split the drawer back...easy fix but still

The half pin started to split the drawer back…easy fix but still

Here’s how it turned out.

IMG_3760 IMG_3761The gap at the bottom right does will close up with a clamp. I guess there is a bow in that board. We’ll see how easy it is to fit into the drawer opening.

In closing, these joints are much tighter than the first two and there’s something to be said about that. Additionally, I finished up drawer four last night and started part of drawer five. They are even better than drawer three so I know I’m making progress. There is definitely a zen quality about making the saw cuts for the pins, which only comes with doing it. I’m glad I’m getting there.

About Shawn Nichols

Heady. Phishy. Woodworker
This entry was posted in The Dresser and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know what you think...

