Progress in Many Areas

I made progress in three areas over the past week:

1. The glue is drying on The Dresser

2. I worked my first volunteer shift at the North Coast Community Woodshop

3. Disassembly is complete on the Toy Chest

I finally got the nerve to start applying glue to the carcase of the dresser. I was apprehensive to say the least, but now I’m ready to glue it up one piece at a time. I’ll give you step by step progress shots as they evolve but for now I’ll give you some shots of gluing the bottom web frame to the bottom rail (thank you Festool Domino). It may not look like much, but it’s a big deal to me.

IMG_5450 IMG_5451On Saturday I spent a few hours at a newly formed woodworking club, the . The shop leaves a bit to be desired, but I’m in it for the community aspect. Most of the guys are power tool based and showing them hand tool skills is both satisfying and invigorating. I was able to give a demonstrate how a sharply tuned hand plane and a card scraper can leave a glass finish (literally, one of the guys said: “it’s like glass” when he felt the surface).

If you are in the Cleveland area and looking for a place to woodwork or just hang out with like-minded folk, please consider joining. We are trying to improve the shop for efficiency and safety. All in due time. I really hope the organization is around for a while because this is a great way to share the burden of larger, more expensive equipment. We really want a SawStop and having one a few miles away means I don’t have to budget for one in the future. Score.

While at the shop I was also able to investigate the inner workings of the Toy Chest. I removed the ancient baseball stickers from the Toy Chest using a hand scraper and then carefully began disassembling it. I was surprised to find a dado housing the bottom. It was crisply made and tightly fit: impressive. I wish my dad was around, so I could ask him how he did it. The next step is to review six board chest construction and figure out the best way to remove the old finish. I want to go old timey with this but I don’t know if I should remove the old finish or just start slapping on milk paint with just a rough scuff sanding. If you have any thoughts, please post them below.

About Shawn Nichols

Heady. Phishy. Woodworker
This entry was posted in NCCW, The Dresser, Toy Chest and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Progress in Many Areas

  1. Pingback: Bag It, Tag It | While The Glue Dries

Let me know what you think...

