Keim Lumber: You Just Gotta Go

So one of the things most troubling about moving to a new location is having to find a new everything. From grocery store to barber to dentist to vet to…well you get the idea. I’m happy to report, I can finally check hardwood dealer off the list. Thanks George for the recommendation. Now, I can’t check off hardwood dealer close to my house, but that’s hopefully a story for another post.

IMG_2228

Last week I braved the first real Northeast Ohio snowfall and drove the 2+ hours down to Charm, OH to visit Keim Lumber. To say I was elated is an understatement.

They had wood species (foreign and domestic) that I’ve never seen or heard of before. And their selection of live edge and burls was simply ridiculous. This visit dovetailed (intended) nicely with my latest read: With the Grain by Chris Becksvoort. One of the main themes is to try out lesser known woods since they are just as local and have the same working properties as some of their popular brethren.

Keim’s staff seems top notch. They will deliver (FOR FREE) within a 150 mile radius. To give you some context, this includes both Greater Columbus and Cleveland. The guy I worked with told me they had 20 trucks out that day, which was the Wednesday before Thanksgiving. Moreover, they will also select your wood if you send them a cut list for a 25% up charge. Not bad when it takes a full tank of gas and nearly a full day of driving. I’ll report on that if I decide to do it.

After 90 minutes or so of gawking carefully selecting some wood, I reluctantly packed up to start the drive home. Oh, I didn’t even go in the part of the store containing the 1000s of tools (most of which can be converted to run on diesel for the locals). I stayed focused and I picked up some nice cherry for to top of The Dresser. I also picked up some wormy chestnut for a new rustic top to a toy chest I’ll be refinishing for my mom (more on that later). It all fit in the back of the van without major reconfiguration and I pulled out of the parking lot full of teeth from ear to ear.

So, if you’re ever ambling through Ohio’s Amish country or just looking for a killer inspiration destination, check them out. Maybe I’ll see you there.

About Shawn Nichols

Heady. Phishy. Woodworker
This entry was posted in The Dresser, Travels and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Keim Lumber: You Just Gotta Go

  1. Erin says:

    This looks like an absolute treasure trove! You’re so lucky! Have fun with all your future projects! Now that you have a reliable hardwood store, your list of things to build can just keep on growing 🙂

    Like

  2. Pingback: Topping It Off | While The Glue Dries

Let me know what you think...

