How The FOG Makes Everything Clear

If you aren’t familiar with The FOG, allow me introduce you.

Reader, The FOG.

FOG, Reader.

Good.

The members of The FOG never cease to amaze me with their Festool knowledge and friendly demeanor. In fact, I was shocked when fellow member Tom went out of his way and created a 20 minute video just to answer my question. You see, I needed to make “I-Beams” to help support my poor choice of ½” plywood for my web frames. Keep in mind, it’s a poor choice because they span about 58″ or so and that’s better left to solid wood ¾” think (lesson learned).

IMG_5421

Example of an “I-Beam”

The I-Beams are also made of ½” plywood and wrapping my head around the Domino’s 4 mm bit for ½” material was a daunting task to this new Domino user. My first thought was The FOG. I posted my message here and soon received Tom’s helpful video. Amazing. Tom, if you somehow read this, thanks again! I tried his technique of using actual dominos to create the offset and I was off to the races (or so I thought).

I tested my cuts in some primo ½” ply and the settings seem to be right. The holes in the vertical pieces seemed a bit close to the top but I still had a few mm to spare so I went ahead and made the first real cut in my other primo ½” material. Fail.

Yuck

Yuck

Next lessons learned:

  1. Not all plywood is EXACTLY the same.
  2. The fence guide on the Domino isn’t spaced in 2 mm increments as I’d originally thought.
The bottom tick mark is 5 mm and not 0 mm. Not so obvious

The bottom tick mark is 5 mm and not 0 mm. Not so obvious

I set the Domino for a depth of “6 mm” as indicated in Tom’s video. Unfortunately, “6 mm” to me was actually about 8 mm because I was reading the 0 – 10 in 2 mm increments. It’s actually spaced by in 1 mm increments and the bottom tick mark represented 5 mm and not 0. Doh!

I made the necessary adjustments on the remaining pieces and salvaged the damaged first piece by adding some pilot holes for screws.

In the end, I completed the I-Beams and they are just as planned. The vertical pieces are centered just like I wanted. You can see in the picture below how close I came to the lay out line using Tom’s method. I then used my new Domino knowledge to create the bottom web frame and added some additional domino connections to secure the front of the web frame to the top and bottom rails.

Now it’s on to the next head scratcher: how the hell am I going to glue up this sucker? This is a woodworking Rubik’s Cube for sure.

About Shawn Nichols

Heady. Phishy. Woodworker
This entry was posted in Projects, The Dresser and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know what you think...

