Channeling My Inner Glen Huey

This post has been a few weeks in the making but with WIA and other travel, I haven’t had a chance to jot down my thoughts. My last post dealt with discovering a huge mistake I’d made ages ago. As I was trying to figure out how to fix it, I hemmed and hawed, went back and forth, and dreamed up unique setups on my MFT. I posted a question in a forum but wasn’t really happy with the answer. The paralysis by analysis was setting in and I knew I just need to get something done.

Then the light bulb turned on: I remembered making story stick when I first laid out the dado locations for the drawers. It survived The Move and was in good condition. Then I remembered a post about router jigs from Glen Huey. After the fact I realize Glen’s method is a little bit better than mine but I didn’t want to continue the paralysis by analysis so I made what I remembered from reading the post.

From start to finish the jig took about 10 minutes and that’s the point Glen, and others, are trying to convey. I HATE making jigs but it was really the easiest solution to my problem and it only took a few minutes and used up some scrap. After the glue dried, I checked the jig for square and went to work on the dadoes.

After the completing the new dadoes they were much better than my first attempt but they weren’t perfect. I decided to go ahead and do a dry fit just to see how everything looked. The glue up proved the little error I had doesn’t make a big difference, so I’m going forward with the piece as is.

Progress. Finally.

IMG_1250

About Shawn Nichols

Heady. Phishy. Woodworker
This entry was posted in Projects, The Dresser and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Channeling My Inner Glen Huey

  1. Erin says:

    Looks fantastic! What kind of wood are you using?

    Like

    • Thanks Erin. It’s cherry.

      Like

      • Erin says:

        I’m toying with the idea of making a chest of drawers as well, but it seems like such a monumental task! Yours is turning out beautifully 🙂

        Like

      • Hey Erin,

        I was in over my head when I started but I’m learning a lot on this build. Here is some unsolicited advice:

        1. Start with some good plans. Feel free to ask me questions if you want more info on what’s “good.” I’m designing on the fly and it’s quite difficult given my inexperience.
        2. Don’t make it too long on your first try. Long dressers seem much more involved than their modest brethren.
        3. Think about drawer design (inset, drawer slides, overlays, etc) before going too far.
        4. Go for it. It’s only as hard as you make it.

        Thanks for stopping by.

        -Shawn

        Like

      • Erin says:

        Thanks for all the tips Shawn! I’ve found a plan that looks pretty solid (it’s from Ana White’s website). I spent about an hour thinking through it mechanically. Once I had a grasp for how everything fit together, I started augmenting to fit what we’d want. So I have the updated plan and everything, I even priced out how much it would cost to build. Now I just need to make the go/no-go decision. We’ll see 🙂 Can’t wait to see more photos from your endeavors!

        Like

Let me know what you think...

