Get By With a Little Help From My Friends

Here’s a quick update on birthday gifts. I have one week left before my daughter’s birthday. Thanks to some help from my beautiful wife and Megan Fitzpatrick I should be done with the small kid’s fridge in time for the big reveal (see my previous post).

My wife helped by actually painting and being the taper-offer between the inside and outside. The inside has a few coats of shellac. Megan helped by providing awesome instructions on how to paint wood projects. I’m referring to her article Paint Like a Professional from Woodworking Magazine Autumn 2006. I reference this every time I paint a project. Megan, if you read this, thanks!

A short synopsis of the article goes like this: buy quality primer/paint, prep by sanding to 150, sand with 320 between coats, and let the quality paint dry. I bought what was recommended by the lady behind the counter at Sherwin Williams. I would post the info but the label is covered in paint. I specifically requested the best stuff for raw wood and I won’t purchase anything else if I can help it.

So far I have three coats of primer plus one coat of “color” (i.e. white) on the Fridge. The Little Helper tower is also getting painted. It required only two coats of primer. Note to self: pine seems to take more coats than poplar. After the first coat I’m not sure if it’ll need a second.

The Little Helper Tower isn’t going to be ready for next week since I haven’t found much time to work out the inlay. It’s okay though since she’ll be stoked about the fridge. Here are a few pics of the inlay after I switched over to the drill press to remove the lion share of material. I’m pretty sure this is going to help speed up the process and reduce wear on the 1/8″ bit. More details on this process as I figure it out.

 

Thanks for stopping by.

About Shawn Nichols

Heady. Phishy. Woodworker
Gallery | This entry was posted in Kids Furniture and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Get By With a Little Help From My Friends

  1. Have you considered using something like Floetrol in your paint? I’ve seen it mentioned on a few “up cycling” type blogs and people rave about it evening out brush marks and such. I haven’t had the opportunity to use it yet myself.

    I’m looking forward to seeing how the butterfly comes out.

    Like

  2. I’ve never heard of Floetrol. I’ll look into it.

    And I hope to make some progress on the butterfly keys on Friday. It’s my one day in the shop where I don’t have to worry about waking anybody up when I turn on a power tool.

    Like

Let me know what you think...

